news's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

database back up, ugh

Hi guys. The database server was just down, but is back up now. I am having trouble writing his paragraph out without screaming, and my hands are shaking a bit with rage. In other words, another happy day chez Andrew haha. No anyway, the problem was that one of my servers (the diaryland mail server in fact) at the place here the Diaryland servers are had problems, so I contacted them to get them to reboot it. They finally did so, but before doing so, they messed up and shut down one of the database servers. I was busy dealing with the first server and didn't notice, because my email was down, and ugh ugh ugh. I used to use this network place because it was excellent quality and worth the price. Now I'm sort of stuck there because if I move to another place, I have to pay for 4 servers at each place for a while, while I migrate the site and work out kinks, and I just don't have close to the money for that. I am going to try to work on some way to get the hell out though, because stuff like this is ridiculous. Haha oh yeah so anyway my point before I started ranting wildly was: Very, very sorry for the downtime, my apologies.

By Andrew Smales. 12:15 p.m. - Nov. 21/2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

server down for a few minutes, back now

Howdy! Sorry about the members area server being inaccessible for a few minutes just now, I had a weird problem I had to fix, but it's all cool now! Very flukey weird thing, yugh.

By Andrew Smales. 2:35 p.m. - Nov. 20/2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

database wrapup

Okay, so I waited until the sunday night and monday night super-busy time periods were over to post this, since it'd be tempting fate otherwise, but the new database server is my hero, it is working super-awesome and the database hasn't even hiccuped since I got it all up and running. I was afraid something annoying might happen to make it not work as I thought it would, but I got all the bugs worked out and yeah, it's working well, weehaw! Now that this isn't wasting all of my time, look for some pretty big new features in the near future!

By Andrew Smales. 12:27 p.m. - Nov 12/2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

database installation part deux

Hi, just a note to say that the new database server is up and running now, which is why you might have seen a message for a while (around noon) saying "hold your horsies we're installing a new database" when you tried to go to the members area. Okay, it didn't actually say horsies, that'd just be silly. errr.. Anyhow, the new server is running nicely, but not quite taking 50% of the load yet, but it will be soon, I just need to test a few more things first. I'll update this when it's all running fully.

By Andrew Smales. 2:55 p.m. - Nov. 8/2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sorry about the server annoyingness lately

Sorry for the server being a bit spotty yesterday and parts of today. I'm actually getting a new database server installed, which I hope to have up and running late tonight sometime, but in the meantime the current one has been super busy, a lot of people have been joining and using the site lately. So while it's nice to be popular, it has it's drawbacks, but the new database server should basically fix it up so the site is smooth and steady for a good long while! Okay, that's all for now, I'll update this more when the server installation progresses!

By Andrew Smales. 11:15 p.m. - Nov 5/2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

G+

Sign up here to get the DiaryLand newsletter:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com