news's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

some small things

Okay, a few small things I wanted to cover:
1) I made a change the other day where now if you search for members from a certain city, state or country, the most recently updated diaries show up at the top. So if you follow a lot of diaries from your hometown, but don't necessarily want to add them all to your buddy list, this could be quite handy for you!
2) The new thing I added which makes sure all your pages get updated when you switch templates had a little malfunction during some database fixing I was doing yesterday night, so if your diary took a little longer than a few seconds to get fully updated, that's why, sorry!
3) About the tech support via AIM thing mentioned in the post below: Please don't message me on AIM if you're not a gold member, if everyone did this I wouldn't be able to do IM tech help for anyone at all, and I will ask your username before i fix anything. I really wish I could do this for every member, but I can't, sorry.
4) Also related to the AIM support: gold members who have mentioned they don't use AOL, read the full link below, you don't actually need to use AOL in order to use this system.

By Andrew Smales. 10:40 a.m. - Apr. 21, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Instant Messenger tech support for gold members

I'm testing out something new: Instead of just email, which can be slow, I'm also going to answer help questions for gold members on AOL Instant Messenger. If you're a gold member, read this for the details. I am hoping that this can get a lot of the help questions taken care of a lot faster and will benefit everyone nicely, although it's still an experimental feature and I'm not positive how it'll go. p.s. people who use messaging programs other than AIM, read to the bottom of the page I linked above!

By Andrew Smales. 1:33 p.m. - Apr. 20, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I fixed some stuff

I fixed a few lingering things today:

1. First and foremost, there was a bug where when you changed your html, not all the oldest entries would be updated. They are now, that's fixed. The reason for that was semi-intentional, because when people with thousands of entries switched their html, some logistical issues would come up. Anyhow, I wrote a special daemon that does everything now, so it works like it should. When you update your html, the latest entry will update, and then the rest will update a few seconds later. Maybe at very busy times it could take 30 seconds for them all to change, but I doubt it'll be much longer than that.

2. There is a new %%username %% (without the space) tag you can stick into your template, and it'll be replaced with your username. This seems like a pointless feature, but it's actually for template designers, one of whom suggested it recently. If you're giving out templates, you can stick this in where the person's username should go, and that'll save them some editing.

Update: I should add that the first change also means that anyone who was having troubles with "prev" and "next" links won't have them anymore, that bug is also fixed. Also, the new tag didn't show up in the thing above to start with because it got replaced by this username haha, but it's %%username %% (without the space)

By Andrew Smales. 6:18 p.m. - Apr. 16, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

diaryland weekend update

Hey, I meant to add: Don't go booking time off work or anything yet, because I think I'm going to have to change the date, for a few reasons. I have had a TON of feedback on this and a lot of people are really into it, so I'm going to work out when the best time to have it is, but it looks like it'll be a little later than the late-june/early-july dates i was thinking of. I'll keep this updated, and start a nofity list about it soon probably too!

By Andrew Smales. 9:13 p.m. - Apr. 12, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

downtime this evening

I will write more about tonight's downtime later, because I am still working on tying up loose ends, but basically: There was a pretty bad hardware failure on one of the servers, but no Diaryland data was lost. Unfortunately, getting the hardware replaced took a long time, because it looked like the broken hardware could actually be salvaged for a while. Anyhow, everything is pretty much working now, and I am sincerely sorry for the downtime this evening, I know how bad it sucks (trust me, I know). Unfortunately this is the sort of thing (equipment failing out of nowhere) that is pretty much unavoidable with internet stuff, and you sort of have to expect it here and there, even huge sites have outages like this (you can tell I'm trying to minimize the angry email eh? haha). Okay I have to go continue to sort this out and see how much of the old equipment is fixable, etc etc.

By Andrew Smales. 10:18 p.m. - Apr. 11, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

DiaryLand picnic weekend

I am planning to have a big DiaryLand picnic/get-together weekend in July in Toronto, Canada. This would be around the June 29th weekend, which would mean that we'd have 2 days of various activities (not just a picnic) and hanging out, and then also the monday would be Canada Day, so there'd be lots of good stuff to do then too. So what I need right now is some input on this: Would you want to come? What activities would you want to do? (I have a bunch of ideas but more are totally welcome). Any comments you have at all would be great! Just click the link below to add one. Update: I made a huge mistake by calling this a picnic. The picnic is only a part of it, I just thought that was a better description than "a weekend filled with activities" or "a convention" which are both dumb descriptions. This will actually be a weekend where a bunch of people do a bunch of activities, it is not just going to be a picnic, that's just one of them. I called it that sort of like how Saturn (the car company) has a Saturn picnic every year.

By Andrew Smales. 2:46 p.m. - Apr. 09, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

welcome to the news!

Welcome to the new and improved news section. You can add comments here to items, because I like to hear your feedback, but it's not a real comments section exactly, you can't read what other people have written. That's cause it's just here as sort of an easy way for you to give feedback without emailing. Please note: You have to be logged into DiaryLand before leaving a comment, because I've put my settings this way (all pages with comments aren't like that, it's just an option).

By Andrew Smales. 1:01 a.m. - Apr. 09, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

G+

Sign up here to get the DiaryLand newsletter:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com